Data & Enrichment
C

ContactOut

ContactOut finds email addresses and phone numbers for professionals. Its Chrome extension reveals contact details on LinkedIn profiles, including Recruiter and Sales Navigator, and on company websites. A search portal with more than 20 filters, an API, bulk enrichment, a Google Sheets add on, an MCP server and a tool that turns a Gmail signup into a named person cover the other routes in. The database covers about 800 million people and 40 million companies, with 200 million work emails, 150 million personal emails and 100 million direct dials, built from crawling public web pages, partner datasets and information its users submit.

Around the data sit an email verifier, email campaigns sent from the user's own Gmail or Outlook mailbox, a cloud phone dialer reaching more than 170 countries with call recording, and AI features that draft personalized emails from a person's profile for the user to review. Contacts push one way into Salesforce and HubSpot custom fields and into the Lever, Greenhouse and Bullhorn applicant tracking systems, and Zapier and an API with batch lookups and callbacks reach the rest.

Recruiters and sales teams are the two core buyers, and customers include Spreetail, GroupM and WarnerMedia among more than a million users. The free plan gives one user per company 40 contacts a month on standard LinkedIn. Unlimited sales users cost $299 a month for work emails only, within fair use caps of 2,000 email and 1,000 phone credits per account a month, and team and API plans are quoted.

People can remove their profile through an opt out form, with deletion promised within 24 hours, and ContactOut is registered as a data broker in California. Founded in 2015 by Rob Liu and based in San Francisco, it contracts as ContactOut Limited under Hong Kong law.

Last VerifiedOctober 18, 2026
Compare ContactOut with other vendors
Founded
2015
Headquarters
San Francisco, California
Website
contactout.com
Categories
data-and-enrichment, linkedin-social-selling
Assessment

Capability Axes

Capability grades

17 of 17 axes rated · 4 graded A or B

AI Capability
AI CentralityAI CentralityWhether AI is the product or a feature veneer. The removal test: peel the AI label off, and does anything sellable remain?
CC on AI CentralityAI features on a conventional platform. Peel the AI label off and the product still works roughly as before.
Vendor Published

AI drafts personalized emails from a person's profile, writes inside Gmail and powers a plain language lead search still in beta. The product people buy is the contact database and the tools that reveal, verify and export it, which work the same without the models.

Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy and Oversight ModelWhat the system does without a human. Draft for review, auto send, or fully agentic, and what contains a bad run.
CC on Autonomy and Oversight ModelAutonomy is claimed or implied with the oversight model asserted rather than documented. Buyers cannot tell from public sources what runs unsupervised.
Vendor Published

AI drafted emails wait for the user to review, copy or send them. Email campaigns run as sequences from the user's mailbox, and anyone added to a running campaign receives its first step automatically. Stopping or capping a campaign is not described.

AI Disclosure and Model TransparencyAI Disclosure and Model TransparencyWhat models power the product, whether AI generated outreach discloses itself, and whether scoring and routing logic is explainable.
CC on AI Disclosure and Model TransparencyThe product is described as AI powered with the stack, the disclosure behavior, and the scoring logic all unstated.
Vendor Published

The models behind the email writer, Gmail assistant and AI lead search are not named, and how the AI chooses what to say from a profile is not explained. Whether recipients learn that an email was written by AI is not addressed.

Operational and Outcome EvidenceOperational and Outcome EvidenceMeasured outcomes with a stated basis: replies, meetings, pipeline, win rates. Logos are not evidence and prestige is not measurement.
BB on Operational and Outcome EvidenceReal outcome evidence published, with named customers and numbers, but the measurement basis is incomplete: population, period, or definition unstated.
Vendor Published

Spreetail reports 20 hires in three months and more than 50 candidates a week, WarnerMedia says it tripled its InMail yield, and BDEX credits the product with doubling sales output. Data claims, such as triple verified emails at 99 percent confidence and direct dials for about 70 percent of professionals, carry no stated method, and no bounce rates are given.

Compliance and Risk
Outreach Compliance PostureOutreach Compliance PostureHow the product handles regulated outreach: consent, DNC scrubbing, opt out mechanics, caller ID conduct, and the public enforcement record.
CC on Outreach Compliance PostureCompliance is mentioned as the customer’s responsibility, with little or no product enforcement described. The tool can be run lawfully, and nothing about it helps.
Vendor Published

People in the database can verify their email through an opt out form and have their profile deleted within 24 hours, and ContactOut is registered as a data broker in California. The email campaign tool and the cloud dialer with call recording carry no described unsubscribe handling, consent checks or recording notices, and CCPA and GDPR compliance comes without detail on how suppression works.

Data Privacy PostureData Privacy PostureGDPR and CCPA posture: lawful basis, data subject rights handling, DPA availability, subprocessor disclosure.
CC on Data Privacy PostureA standard privacy policy exists and answers none of the questions this product category specifically raises.
Vendor Published

Processing of the people in the database rests on legitimate interest and on the data having been made manifestly public. Rights requests are answered within a month, with complaints routed to the UK ICO. A DPA, a subprocessor list, a transfer mechanism and an EU or UK representative are not offered. A 2022 UK tribunal decision records an access request to ContactOut that went unanswered and found the ICO could not enforce against it as a controller outside the UK.

Data Licensing and ProvenanceData Licensing and ProvenanceWhere the data comes from and on what legal footing: licensed, contributed, public record, or scraped, and who stands behind the answer.
BB on Data Licensing and ProvenanceProvenance is substantively described but incompletely: sourcing classes named without the legal footing, or indemnification unstated.
Vendor Published

The data comes from crawling billions of public web pages, partner datasets, government records and information users submit, and free users grant a perpetual, irrevocable license to the contacts they submit for use by other customers. Work emails are found or constructed from patterns and checked by SMTP, and matching runs on LinkedIn member IDs. The partners behind the data and the legal footing for user contributed contacts are not named.

Platform Terms ExposurePlatform Terms ExposureWhether the product operates inside the terms of the platforms it touches, and the restriction risk a buyer inherits when it does not.
CC on Platform Terms ExposureThe vendor is silent on method while the product’s function implies platform automation. Restriction risk is real and unpriced.
Vendor Published

The Chrome extension reveals emails and phone numbers on LinkedIn profiles, Recruiter and Sales Navigator, matches records to LinkedIn member IDs and collects browsing history and page content. How it operates against LinkedIn's terms, which bar automated data extraction, is not addressed.

AI Safety and Data StewardshipAI Safety and Data StewardshipThe cross client boundary: whether customer data trains models that serve competitors, plus retention and deletion posture.
CC on AI Safety and Data StewardshipSecurity language exists but the training question, the one this axis turns on, is unanswered: a buyer cannot tell whether their pipeline data improves a competitor’s instance.
Vendor Published

Whether customer data, drafted emails or the profiles in the database train AI models is not addressed. Data is kept for as long as necessary, with no retention periods, while opt outs are deleted within 24 hours.

Recipient Disclosure and AuthenticityRecipient Disclosure and AuthenticityHow the product presents itself to the people it targets: whether automated outreach and AI agents disclose themselves, whether sender personas are real, and whether personalization is grounded in verifiable fact. Measured as known compliance with Article 50 of the EU AI Act, in force since August 2, 2026, which requires AI systems that interact with individuals to disclose that fact.
CC on Recipient Disclosure and AuthenticityNothing published on whether recipients are told they are dealing with software. For a product whose AI talks to prospects, silence here is now a regulatory posture, not a style choice.
Vendor Published

AI drafted emails go out under the user's own name and mailbox through the campaign tool or by hand. Whether recipients learn the email was written by AI, and any position on the disclosure duties in Article 50 of the EU AI Act, are not addressed.

Integration and Deployment
Ecosystem and Integration DepthEcosystem and Integration DepthDocumented depth of CRM and stack integration: objects, sync direction, API surface, marketplace presence that matches the claims.
BB on Ecosystem and Integration DepthSolid primary CRM integration documented, with depth unstated at the edges (sync direction, custom objects, failure behavior).
Vendor Published

Contacts push one way into custom fields in Salesforce and HubSpot without overwriting existing values, and into the Lever, Greenhouse and Bullhorn applicant tracking systems, with Zapier for other tools. The API offers token authentication, rate limits by endpoint and tier, batches of up to 1,000 profiles with a callback for results, and endpoints for people and company search, decision makers, verification, campaigns and hashed emails. A Google Sheets add on adds reveal and enrich functions, and an MCP server opens the data to AI assistants. Two way sync is not offered.

Deployment Model and Data ResidencyDeployment Model and Data ResidencyWhere the product runs and where customer data lives, including residency options for EU buyers.
CC on Deployment Model and Data ResidencyCloud hosted is the whole public answer. Region and residency questions require a sales conversation.
Vendor Published

The service runs on AWS with keys managed in AWS KMS. Regions, where profile and customer data is stored and any residency choice are not stated.

Security Certifications and Trust CenterSecurity Certifications and Trust CenterVerifiable security posture: enumerated current certifications and a trust center an outsider can actually read.
CC on Security Certifications and Trust CenterSecurity is claimed in general terms. Asserting certifications without enumerating them is weaker than it looks, and this band is where that lands.
Vendor Published

SOC 2 certification is stated without a report type, auditor or date, and there is no trust center or route to request the report. The ISO and FedRAMP credentials in play belong to AWS rather than to ContactOut. Multi factor authentication and Google and Microsoft single sign on are supported.

Commercial and Operational
Commercial TransparencyCommercial TransparencyWhether a buyer can budget without a sales call. Published pricing graded on completeness, not on the price itself.
CC on Commercial TransparencyA pricing page exists and communicates structure without numbers, or numbers so qualified they do not budget anything.
Vendor Published

Team and API plans are quoted. Unlimited sales users cost $299 a month for work emails only, subject to conditions, and the terms cap that offer at 2,000 email and 1,000 phone credits per account a month. The free plan gives one user per company 40 contacts a month on standard LinkedIn. Prices for individual paid plans, credit costs and annual terms are not available without a sales call.

Exit and Data PortabilityExit and Data PortabilityWhat happens when a customer leaves: completeness of data export, rights to enriched or licensed data after termination, deletion commitments, and auto renewal mechanics, graded from published terms and documentation.
CC on Exit and Data PortabilityExport exists as a feature claim while the terms that govern exit, data rights after termination, deletion, and auto renewal mechanics, are not published anywhere a buyer can read.
Vendor Published

Subscriptions cancel immediately from the account page, contacts export to CSV, and ContactOut may close an account at any time for any reason, with liability capped at A$50. Refunds, renewal terms, credit expiry and the right to keep exported contacts after the subscription ends are not stated.

Deliverability and Sending DisciplineDeliverability and Sending DisciplineThe operational craft of sending: warmup, rotation, volume governance, spam rate monitoring, and what happens when reputation degrades.
CC on Deliverability and Sending DisciplineDeliverability is invoked as a benefit with no documented mechanism. For senders this is the axis where marketing most outruns evidence.
Vendor Published

Emails are verified by SMTP checks, with no bounce guarantee or credit back for bounces. The campaign tool sends from the user's connected Gmail or Outlook mailbox, and warmup, daily limits and monitoring of sender reputation are not described.

Segment and Market CoverageSegment and Market CoverageWho the product actually serves, evidenced: segments, geographies, languages, and customers that match the claim.
BB on Segment and Market CoverageSegment focus is clear and evidenced with a gap in geographic or language specifics.
Vendor Published

Recruiters and sales teams are the two core buyers, with use cases for marketing and revenue operations, and named customers include Spreetail, GroupM, Ivy Exec, BDEX and WarnerMedia. ContactOut puts its base at 1.4 million users in more than 100 countries and about three quarters of the Fortune 500, without a breakdown by region or language.

Alternatives

Alternatives to ContactOut

Vendors in the same categories as ContactOut whose graded profiles look most alike, with a line on what each product does.

Similar is not the same, so check that each one does the job you need. No vendor pays for placement.

Revenue acceleration platform combining a business contact and company database with omnichannel engagement, parallel dialing and agent products.

SalesIntel sells B2B contact and company data checked by a research team of more than 2,000 people, covering over 200 million contacts and 54 million mobile numbers.

Seamless.AI sells business contact data on a credit model, where a credit is spent when the platform researches a named person to return an email address, a mobile number and supporting detail.

SMARTe sells B2B contact and company data with an emphasis on coverage outside North America, covering about 285 million contacts and 66 million companies across more than 200 countries.

Contact data and enrichment delivered where a seller already works rather than through a database they have to visit.

Data enrichment and go to market workflow platform built on a spreadsheet interface.

Ordered by how closely the graded profiles match across the seventeen axes, inside the same categories. See how each axis is graded in the methodology.

Commercial

Pricing

What this vendor charges, what it commits to in writing, and where the bill can move. Figures the vendor publishes itself are labeled Vendor Published. Figures labeled Estimated come from other sources and the vendor has not confirmed them.

What it costs
Vendor Published
Free
unlimited sales users $299/month (work emails only)
$299 lowest published figure
In short
  • ›ContactOut has a free plan that gives one user per company 40 contacts a month on standard LinkedIn. Unlimited sales users cost $299 a month for work emails only, within fair use caps of 2,000 email and 1,000 phone credits per account a month. Team and API plans, which add Salesforce and applicant tracking integrations and an account manager, are quoted.

How the price works

What you are charged for, and what makes the bill go up.

Credit based plans with a free tier; unlimited sales users offer under fair use caps; Team and API plans quoted

What the contract says about your data

What the vendor commits to in writing once your data is in the product.

No BAA tier listed; no DPA available.

Getting started

What it costs and what is included before the product is running.

No setup fee listed; a managed enrichment service is quoted.

What to watch for

Where this pricing can surprise a buyer who has not read it closely.

Team and API plans are quoted. The unlimited offer covers work emails only and is subject to conditions; the terms cap unlimited plans at 2,000 email and 1,000 phone credits per account a month. Individual plan prices, renewal terms and credit expiry are not available without a sales call.

Contact us

Found a vendor we missed? Have feedback on the index? We’d love to hear from you.