Apollo.io
Apollo.io (legal entity ZenLeads, Inc. d/b/a Apollo.io) is the default all-in-one prospecting and engagement platform for the SMB and mid-market: a very large B2B contact database (published figures range from 210M to 275M contacts and 35M companies across its own properties), 65+ search filters, multichannel sequencing, a parallel and international dialer, website visitor identification, buyer intent signals, a Chrome extension, and CRM integration with Salesforce and HubSpot. Sold product-led with a genuinely usable permanent free tier and published per-seat pricing from $49 to $119 per user per month annually.
An AI Assistant launched March 2026 executes outbound workflows from natural language, and engineering roles describe autonomous and deep-research agent systems in development. Apollo acquired Pocus in March 2026 to fold signal-based revenue intelligence into the platform. Matt Curl was appointed CEO in February 2026 with co-founder Tim Zheng continuing as chairman. Apollo is a registered data broker in California, Oregon, Texas and Vermont.
Capability Axes
Capability grades
17 of 17 axes rated · 10 graded A or B
Fails the removal test, and Apollo supplies the proof itself: the basic tier at $49 per user per month ships with no AI features at all and is sold as a complete working product. A vendor that packages and prices a fully functional plan with the AI removed has answered this axis in its own price list. The substrate is a contact database, a sequencer and a dialer; the AI Assistant arrived March 2026 and the AI power-ups are tier-gated capabilities layered on top. This is the cleanest single piece of evidence in the index for the convention that vintage rather than marketing volume decides this axis.
The capability is being built out fast and the governance surface has not followed. The AI Assistant launched March 2026 executes outbound workflows from natural-language instruction, and Apollo's own engineering job descriptions name Autonomous AI Agents, Deep Research Agents and multi-agent systems that reason, plan and execute complex sales workflows.
Against that: no product documentation on approval gates, human review before send, escalation thresholds, guardrails, or an audit trail of AI-initiated actions. Worth distinguishing carefully, because it is easy to miscredit: Apollo publishes a strong editorial piece on human-in-the-loop AI selling that names specific escalation triggers (high-value accounts, negative sentiment, competitor mentions, contract discussions). That is thought leadership addressed to the industry, not a description of controls shipped in the product, and it is graded as such.
No model provider, family or version named for the AI Assistant, the email writer, the research agents or the semantic search layer. No model cards, no evaluation results, no accuracy or hallucination measurement published for any AI output. The AI surfaces are described entirely by what they do.
Notable as a gap rather than an omission of scale: third-party compliance vetting specifically records that Apollo does not hold ISO 42001, the AI management system standard, which is currently the closest thing to a certifiable answer on this axis and which no vendor in this index yet holds.
Heavily used and independently rated, with the headline claims contested. Apollo publishes scale figures (550k+ companies, 96% email accuracy) and third-party ratings exist at volume (G2 scoring data accuracy 8.3 of 10, Capterra scoring support 4.2 of 5). Two debits.
First, the contact count is inconsistent across Apollo's own surfaces - 210m in its careers copy, 224m in its insights content, and 230m and 275m in figures quoted from its marketing elsewhere - which for a company whose product is a count of records is an odd thing to leave unreconciled. Second, independent reviews across G2, Reddit and Trustpilot consistently report bounce rates of 15 to 25 percent, which is hard to square with a published 96% email accuracy figure.
The credit that keeps this at B and is genuinely rare: Apollo's own knowledge base publishes faq entries titled "Why do third-party email verification vendors flag Apollo's verified emails as invalid?" and "Why do I have a high bounce rate for emails sent via a mailbox connected to Apollo?" A vendor documenting its own most common quality complaint, in its own help centre, is disclosure of a kind almost nobody in this index offers.
The deepest regulatory registration surface in the index, and it is registration rather than assertion. Apollo is a registered data broker in California, Oregon, Texas and Vermont and names all four; it publishes its legal entity and address; it has an appointed Data Protection Officer with a published contact address; it names an EU Representative (Lionheart Squared) as Article 27 requires; and it is registered under the EU-US Data Privacy Framework including the UK Extension and the Swiss-US framework.
The shipped control that makes this an A rather than a paperwork exercise: Apollo screens its database against multiple do not call registries in-product, so the compliance obligation is discharged at the data layer rather than left to the buyer to remember. Add a published route for any individual to claim or remove their own profile. Naming the statute, shipping the control and publishing the removal path is the Aloware A pattern, applied at scale.
The most complete privacy disclosure in the GTM index. Apollo states plainly that it is GDPR-compliant as both controller and processor and, unusually, explains why - it is a controller of the data in its contributory database while that data sits in the database, and a processor of the customer data it handles in delivering the service.
A Data Processing Addendum is published at a stable URL and incorporated by reference into the Terms of Service, covering both roles and carrying the EU Standard Contractual Clauses for transfers. Data Privacy Framework certification covers EU-US, UK Extension and Swiss-US. A Privacy Center gives data subjects a self-service route to exercise rights.
The processing notice enumerates the categories held - role, employer, title, professional responsibilities, office location, professional social profile, job history - and discloses that Apollo makes inferences about those contacts, including their likelihood of interest in a customer's product. Publishing the existence of inferred data, which is exactly the category most brokers leave unmentioned, is the single strongest disclosure decision on this record.
First A on this axis in the index, and it resets the bar for every data vendor that follows. Apollo names three sourcing routes and does not hide behind "multiple sources": (1) the data contributor network of over two million contributors who share their business contacts in the course of using Apollo, with the specific extracting features named - Email Finder and Open Tracker - so a buyer can see exactly which product surface turns their mailbox into inventory; (2) publicly available sources; (3) purchased lists.
It accepts controller status over that contributory database. It is a registered data broker in four states. And it discharges the article 14 obligation in a published artefact - a GDPR processing notice whose opening line is that this is Apollo letting you know it has added your business contact information to its database, followed by the legal basis, the categories held and the rights available.
Compare Adapt.io, held at B because contribution carried no documented opt-out; Apollo's contributor network is described as opt-in and profile removal is self-service. The hard edge that still belongs in any comparison: the individuals whose details are extracted from a customer's connected mailbox never agreed to anything - the customer did. Apollo's answer is the notice and the removal route, which is the best answer available, and it is still an answer to a problem the business model creates.
Split by platform, and the split is instructive. On Google, Apollo holds CASA tier 2 certification (Cloud Application Security Assessment), the formal third-party conformance regime for applications requesting restricted Gmail scopes - a stated, independently assessed conformance position with a named platform, which is precisely what this axis reserves its top band for. Sending runs on Apollo's own infrastructure through official Gmail and Outlook OAuth connections, not scraped sessions.
On LinkedIn, nothing: the Chrome extension pulls contact data from professional network profiles, third parties characterise the sourcing as including web crawling, and Apollo takes no published position on LinkedIn's User Agreement. An A here would require the Google-side rigour extended to the platform Apollo actually has exposure on. B is the honest average of a certified position on one platform and silence on the other.
The training boundary is unaddressed, and at Apollo the question compounds in a way it does not elsewhere. Nothing published states whether customer CRM records, sequence content, call recordings or connected-mailbox content are used to train or improve models serving other accounts. The compounding: Apollo already discloses that connecting a mailbox feeds business contact data into a shared contributory database served to every other customer, including competitors.
A buyer has therefore already accepted one channel by which their data flows outward, which makes the unanswered question of whether a second channel exists for model training materially more pressing than at a vendor with no contributory model at all. The disclosure that exists covers the data network; it does not extend to the AI layer built on top of it. What counts in favour: encryption at rest and in transit, multi-tenant isolation enforced at the application and API layer, a uniform authentication policy, and a dedicated security team.
A useful distinction this record makes clearer than any other in the index: Apollo discloses that it holds you; it does not disclose that the message you received was machine-written. On the first, it leads the field - a published Article 14 processing notice sent to the standard of telling a person their data was added, a Privacy Center for exercising rights, and a self-service route to claim or remove a profile from the database.
On the second, silence: the AI Assistant and AI email writer generate outreach delivered to individuals, and there is no Article 50 position anywhere, no statement that AI-generated messages carry any marking, and no described mechanism by which a recipient could know. transparency and AI-nature transparency are different obligations under different articles, and Apollo has discharged one and not the other.
Broad and practical rather than deep and documented. Bi-directional CRM integration with Salesforce and HubSpot, Gmail and Microsoft Outlook via OAuth, a widely used Chrome extension, Zapier, and a large connector catalogue. API access exists but is gated to the organization tier and above, which puts programmatic access out of reach for the self-serve buyers the free and Basic tiers are designed to attract.
The March 2026 Pocus acquisition folds signal-based revenue intelligence into the platform, though packaging within the existing tiers has not been announced. Held at B: no object-level field mapping published, no MCP server or agent-gateway endpoint located, and the depth of any individual connector is not documented.
A single-region posture with no options in it, disclosed in the DPA rather than in marketing: Apollo hosts the service with outsourced, US-based data center providers on multi-tenant infrastructure, with the physical and environmental controls of those providers audited under SOC 2 Type II, and contractual agreements and vendor compliance programmes stated as the assurance mechanism for sub-processors.
Same band and same reasoning as 9Lenses and Amplemarket: clear disclosure of a posture with no customer choice beats silence. Held at B rather than higher because the disclosure is thin on specifics - no cloud provider named, no region named, and no EU residency option offered despite Data Privacy Framework certification and a substantial European customer base.
Real certifications, a real trust centre, and the weakest gating pattern on the report itself. Present: SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, both with the auditor named (A-LIGN), which is more than most vendors disclose; CASA Tier 2; a trust centre at trust.apollo.io carrying the compliance set (SOC 2, ISO 27001, GDPR, CCPA, CPRA, EU-US DPF, CASA Tier 2) with downloadable documents including a penetration test report; encryption at rest and in transit; multi-tenant storage isolated at the application and API layer; a uniform password policy; a dedicated security team.
The reason this is not an A: the security page's instruction for the complete SOC 2 report is to contact the sales team. The index bar is that a self-service report earns A and a gated one earns B, and routing the core security artefact through a sales conversation rather than a trust-centre request form is the most friction any certified vendor in this index puts on it.
The benchmark for this axis in the index. Five tiers published with real numbers and real units: Free at $0 with a genuinely usable allocation (full contact database access, roughly 900 credits a year, 2 active sequences, the Chrome extension) rather than a crippled trial; Basic $49 per user per month annually or $59 monthly; Professional $79 or $99; Organization $119 or $149 with a three-seat minimum; Enterprise custom. The annual discount is quantified at roughly 17 to 20 percent.
Credit allocations, sequence limits and feature gates are published per tier, so the buyer can see that AI features are absent from Basic and that SSO and API access begin at Organization. A buyer can budget their entire self-serve purchase path and knows precisely what the enterprise conversation is for, which is the established test.
One item that is not published and belongs in the note: third-party procurement sources report contracts commonly carrying 5 to 10 percent annual price escalation clauses. The contrast worth keeping: Apollo publishes five tiers; Adobe and Salesforce publish none.
The finding here is structural and worth reusing across every credit-metered data vendor: export is a purchased commodity, not a right. Export credits are allocated per tier as a commercial unit - ten a month on the free plan - so a customer's ability to leave with the records they have already paid to reveal is rate-limited by the plan they are on, and a large book of enriched contacts cannot be extracted faster than the subscription permits.
CSV export and API access (Organization and above) are the mechanisms. Nothing published covers post-termination customer data rights, a deletion timeline or confirmation, what becomes of sequence and engagement history, or what happens to data derived from a connected mailbox after churn. Credit for the side, which is genuinely good: any individual can claim or remove their own profile from the database self-service. That is portability for the person in the database, not for the customer who bought the seat.
First D on this axis and the sharpest contrast in the index: Apollo and Amplemarket sell into the same buyer and land at opposite ends of this axis in the same session. No warmup, no inbox placement testing, no domain health monitoring, no mailbox rotation policy, no published bounce or complaint threshold, no volume governance and no documented response to reputation degradation - on a platform built for high-volume sequencing from the customer's own connected Gmail or Outlook mailbox, which means it is the buyer's domain reputation being spent.
The load-bearing evidence is Apollo's own: its knowledge base publishes faq entries addressing why third-party verification vendors flag Apollo's verified emails as invalid, and why customers see high bounce rates from mailboxes connected to Apollo. Independent review consensus across G2, Reddit and Trustpilot puts bounce rates at 15 to 25 percent.
A competitor's published analysis states Apollo discontinued email warmup in 2024, leaving no native deliverability protection; that claim is from a rival and is treated as third-party rather than established, but nothing on Apollo's own surface contradicts it or documents any replacement. Honesty about the failure mode is real and is credited on the outcome evidence axis; it does not substitute for the discipline itself.
The tier ladder maps the segment coverage explicitly and it runs the full width: a free plan aimed at individual users and light prospecting, Basic and Professional for small teams, Organization for larger sales orgs with a three-seat floor, and Enterprise for buyers needing SSO and dedicated support. Apollo claims 550K+ companies using the platform, and the database is described as worldwide across contacts and companies.
Held at B: no enumerated country coverage or per-region data density is published, and independent reviews consistently report that data accuracy varies materially by region - which is precisely the coverage detail this axis asks for and the vendor does not supply for a database sold on its global reach.
What Changed
Material product, compliance, evidence and commercial changes at Apollo.io, each verified against a live source and tagged to the capability axis it bears on. Funding rounds and awards are not product changes and are not logged.
Apollo added structured error_details to selected REST and MCP errors, with stable codes and recovery guidance covering search validation and enrichment failures. Organization Enrichment requests with a missing or unreadable identifier now return HTTP 422 where they used to return 200 with an empty organization. The legacy top level fields on migrated errors will be removed on 16 February 2027.
Compared With
Editorial comparisons are published only where the index assesses two vendors as direct competitors for the same buyer. Each carries a verdict, the buyer conditions that favor each vendor, and a graded side by side.
Pricing
What this vendor charges, what it commits to in writing, and where the bill can move. Figures the vendor publishes itself are labeled Vendor Published. Figures labeled Estimated come from other sources and the vendor has not confirmed them.
- ›There is a free plan, and the paid plans start at $49. The price table on the page will not load for a machine, but the company also writes its prices into the page as data, and that is where these numbers come from.
- ›The two published numbers do not match each other. The $49 looks like a yearly rate and the $99 sitting next to it looks like a monthly rate for the plan above, and the page never says which is which or whether either is per person.
- ›The plans do not have one name each. The top plan is called Organization in one place on the page, Custom in another, and Enterprise in the data. The free plan is called Starter in one place and Free Plan in the other.
- ›Credits are what really decides your bill. You spend them to reveal a phone number or to move a contact out of the platform, and the company's own fair use rule prices a credit at $0.025.
- ›Before signing, get the tier prices in writing with the billing period spelled out, ask what extra credits cost, and ask for the data processing agreement, because none is published and this tool connects to your mailbox and records your calls.
How the price works
What you are charged for, and what makes the bill go up.
Per seat subscription combined with a consumable credit meter. The rendered price table does not exist in the served page: under the compare plans heading the payload carries a loading spinner and the figures arrive from a call made after load. The prices are nonetheless published by the vendor on the same page, in a structured data offer catalog that names four offers: a free plan at $0, a Basic plan at $49, a Professional plan at $99, and an Enterprise plan whose price field carries the words contact for pricing against a United States dollar currency code.
That catalog states no billing period, no unit and no seat basis. Nothing in it says per user, per month or per year. Third party pricing guides published between March and August 2026 report the same ladder as $49 per user monthly on annual billing or $59 monthly, then $79 annual or $99 monthly, then $119 annual or $149 monthly with a three seat minimum. Read against those, the catalog's $49 is an annual rate and its $99 is the monthly rate for the tier above it, so the two figures the vendor makes machine readable do not share a basis and cannot be compared with each other.
The fair usage arithmetic behind the unlimited plans is published in full and carries the only unit rate in this record. An account on an unlimited plan that is not paying is capped at 10,000 credits per account monthly. A paying account is capped at the lesser of one million credits per account annually or the amount paid divided by $0.025, which sets a published credit value of $0.025. Three credit types are named in the page's own interface strings: email credits, mobile credits and export credits. Export credits are consumed whenever a contact leaves the platform, whether by file export, synchronization to a customer relationship system or enrichment through the programmatic interface. Additional credits can be bought inside the application at any time and no rate for them appears on the pricing page. Third party reporting puts a phone number reveal at 8 credits against 1 for a verified email address and states that credits do not roll over.
Billing mechanics are published in the frequently asked questions and are unusually specific:
- ›upgrades to plan or seat count take effect immediately
- ›downgrades to plan or seat count take effect immediately with access adjusted at once
- ›add on downgrades take effect at the end of the billing cycle
- ›no refund is issued for a downgrade taken mid term
- ›credits bought part way through a cycle stay available until that cycle ends
- ›and cancellation takes effect at the end of the current term.
Email campaigns are included on every account including the free one, though an account that is not paying can connect only one of the two major mailbox providers and any other provider requires a paid plan.
What the contract says about your data
What the vendor commits to in writing once your data is in the product.
The security posture is published in detail and the processing terms are not. Two passes across the security page, the privacy center and the pricing page located certification to two recognized information security standards, both verified by a named third party assessor, encryption stated at rest and in transit, annual network and graybox penetration testing by a certified external consultant, quarterly internal and external audits covering access control, risk, information security, infrastructure and personnel procedures, a maximum 24 hour recovery time and recovery point objective, and a trust portal from which certificates download without a sales conversation. The full report for the second standard is released only on contact with sales. The vendor states it is compliant with the European regulation as both controller and processor, which is the correct dual characterization for a business that both sells a database it assembles and processes prospect data on a customer's instruction.
Against that, no data processing agreement was located, no subprocessor list, no retention schedule, no deletion commitment for customer supplied data and no residency or hosting region statement. A privacy center is published, and what it addresses is the rights of the people held in the database rather than the obligations owed to the paying customer: an opt out that removes a profile and adds the individual to a suppression list, an information access request route, a privacy policy, terms of service and a policy page covering the vendor's use of models.
The gap matters more here than it would for most of this roster, because of what a configured account actually holds. This is not a contact list. It carries authenticated access to the customer's mailbox, recorded calls and their transcripts, synchronization into the customer relationship system, and prospect data drawn from a database the vendor itself describes as community sourced and crowdsourced. A buyer whose procurement requires processing terms in place before signature will have to obtain them through a sales conversation rather than read them in advance.
Getting started
What it costs and what is included before the product is running.
None located, and none is likely on a self serve purchase. Signup is self serve, the free plan runs indefinitely, and the trial carries 50 credits, 5 mobile credits and almost every feature of whichever plan was selected. Two limits sit inside the trial rather than in the price: an account that is not paying can connect only one of the two major mailbox providers, so a team evaluating with its own sending domain cannot test that path until it pays, and the programmatic interface is described as available on the quoted Custom tier.
No setup charge, onboarding fee, migration rate, professional services rate or minimum term was located on any surface reached. Onboarding material is extensive and free: an onboarding path, an academy of video courses, a knowledge base, guides, templates, webinars, a community and published interface documentation. The vendor's own description of its support model refers to paid live support paths alongside the chatbot and help center, and no rate for that appears anywhere reached here, so a team that expects human support should establish what it costs before signing.
One further term belongs in a buyer's model even though it is not a fee. The plans on the public page are licensed for internal business use only. Using the data to power a product, sharing it with the buyer's own customers or reselling it requires a separate agreement at custom pricing, which the vendor states plainly and routes through a partner request form.
What to watch for
Where this pricing can surprise a buyer who has not read it closely.
The prices are published, and the only version of them a machine can read disagrees with the rest of the page.
Under the compare plans heading the served payload carries a loading spinner and nothing else, so the table a visitor sees is fetched after the page loads and does not exist in the document. Embedded in that same document, however, is a structured data offer catalog listing four offers with figures: free at $0, Basic at $49, Professional at $99, and an Enterprise plan whose price field holds the words contact for pricing next to a dollar currency code. That catalog is the machine readable price for this vendor and it is what an answer engine quoting Apollo will quote.
It does not agree with the product. The catalog states no billing period, no unit and no seat basis, so $49 and $99 sit in it as bare numbers. Against independent reporting the $49 is the annual rate for the entry paid tier and the $99 is the monthly rate for the tier above it, which means the two figures the vendor exposes to machines are on different bases and invite exactly the wrong comparison.
The tier names do not agree either. The top tier is called Organization in the page's own interface strings, Custom in the frequently asked questions printed on the same page, and Enterprise in the structured data. The free tier is Starter in those questions and Free Plan in the catalog. A buyer searching any one of those names is searching for a plan that three of the vendor's own surfaces describe differently.
The vendor also publishes a document addressed directly to AI assistants, last updated April 2026, covering its history, leadership, product modules and competitive position, with explicit instructions on how assistants should characterize the company. It names no price anywhere and does not point at the offer catalog. So the surface built deliberately for machines omits the cost, while the machine readable cost sits unmaintained inside a page most readers never inspect.
What is disclosed well deserves saying, and the fair usage arithmetic is the strongest item on the page. Capping a paying account at the amount paid divided by $0.025 publishes a credit price without ever printing one on a plan card. The billing mechanics are the second strongest, because they answer the questions that generate disputes, in particular that a mid term downgrade forfeits the remainder rather than refunding it and that credits bought part way through a cycle survive to the end of it.
One contradiction is worth settling before signature. The vendor states that a downgrade of seat count takes effect immediately with no refund. Several independent buyer guides state instead that seat reductions are unavailable until the term ends. Those are different commitments and a buyer carrying a shrinking team should get the answer into the order form rather than take either source on trust.
Directory figures compound the spread rather than resolving it. One major review platform lists the second paid tier at $99 per user monthly and also carries a custom plan at $5,000 per user annually, a unit that matches nothing else published. Reported annual discounts range from 17 to 20 percent depending on the source and the tier. Separately, the vendor discloses that two credit systems are running concurrently and that some features shown on the pricing page are unavailable to customers still on the legacy system, so an existing account may not receive what a new buyer is shown.
The numeric field carries $49, the lowest recurring paid rate the vendor publishes anywhere. The free plan is named in the headline rather than recorded as the entry price, and the figure is recorded knowing the vendor has not stated the period it covers.